The annual Teacher of the Year Program and Barbeque was held May 24th, 2019 at Grand Valley Middle School in Parachute, CO.  The event recognizes Garfield County School District 16 employees for their excellence in education and contributions to the students and district, is sponsored by the Grand Valley Educational Foundation, through generous funding from the community as well as many local business sponsors.

Teacher nominees for the 2018-2019 Teacher of The Year awards included: from GVHS Irene Doyle, Scott Parker, Elisa Schultz; GVMS Christina Ray, Maxwell Tustin, Kaitlyn Sullivan; BUE Jessie Kirk, Jessica Strong, Garrett Sullivan; CFLArtemio Baltazar, Emily Bolton, Robin McMillan

Classified person of the year award nominees for the school year included: Rhonda Blair at Grand Valley Center for Family Learning; Brenda Bowen at Bea Underwood Elementary; Alberto Melendrez at Grand Valley Middle School; Tracy Chartier from Grand Valley High School; and districtwide employee Marilyn Mondragon.

Recipients of the teacher of the year awards were: Elisa Schltz at GVHS; Kaitlyn Sullivan at GVMS; Artemio Baltazar at GVCFL; Garrett Sullivan at BUE; and classified employee Alberto Melendrez.

We would like to send a special thanks to Clarks Market, the Kiwanis club, Lynn Shore and the Town of Parachute. We could not have done this without your support.

Check out our Scrapbook to see the recipients from previous years